One of my favorite things about my Mom is that the most road raged I have ever seen her is when she calls another driver a turkey. That’s as bad as it get with her. So, today I admit I am indeed a turkey.

This turkey has tried writing this post about 4 times now and I keep getting bogged down and quiting. Mostly because I haven’t blogged since April and what an ashamed blogger I am. I could blame my lack of effort on a million things but mostly I just hit a blogging wall. I hit that place where I felt like nothing I did was interesting enough to express it on here. So, I went on with life, not blogging. Missing it but yet ignoring the call to write. I still kept up with everyone else’s blogs while letting this little corner of the interwebs collect dust. But, with some big changes along the horizon, I have decided its time to dust off the ole girl and do some brain dumping. And maybe someone out there might just need this little escape just as much as I do. I have indeed missed it and its time to stop living in denial.

So, in 2-birds-1-stone style, here’s whats been going on with me and some things I’m thankful for in honor of our favorite turkey eating holiday.

  • Change. Everyone hates change but isn’t it funny how much we need it? I’ve really learned this the hard way this past year. Life is nothing but a series of changes and its all about learning to cope with them. But until you are on the other side, you don’t truly appreciate how much you need it.
  • A New Start. I’m thankful for the new start I will be making December 1 when I am for the first time ever in my entire life, moving into an apartment and living completely 100% by myself. In all my 28 years, this is something I have never done and to be quite honest have been afraid of. This new start is scary and it’s something I am working on being brave about. But it’s something I need to do. So, here we go!
  • Friends. I couldn’t have made this big decision without the support of my friends. Especially my roomie of 7 years. She’s been nothing but supportive of this big change I’m making and I have no doubts that we will remain as close as ever. Thanks for your love and support, M. And your help on moving day πŸ™‚
  • Family who smile and support my crazy antics. When I first told the folks, I was moving yet again, they didn’t even bat an eye. They just asked how they could help. I love them for that. For letting me figure out who I am and what I want to do and what adventure is next without criticizing, trying to change my mind, or judging. They just love me and I love them for the space they have given me to grow up.
  • A great workplace. I work with some great people and for a very good company which I have had the priveledge of working for 5 years now. And I’m thankful that I get to work at a place I respect and enjoy coming to. And I’m thankful the new place is right down the street. Yay for spending less on gas. Amen.
  • My health. For then first time in quite a while, I can say I’m as healthy as I’ve been since high school. I’m at a place where I take care of myself, I try to eat as right as I possibly can with the exception of a latte or a cookie here and there, and I am active and feeling better then I ever have. After a great visit to the doctor earlier this year, I take great pride in knowing I am doing what I can to be the best me possible. And for that I am thankful.
  • The pugs. How can I have a thankful post without mentioning the fur children? Oh how they bring joy to my life. And it’s because of them that I am not as worried to live by myself. Trusty Bogart will keep me sane. He’ll sit in my lap and snuggle at night and be my number one crumb catcher at the new place. And Penny….well, she’ll be a great source of entertainment. And I’m sure there is plenty more patience I need to learn from her. They truly are a huge part of this single girl’s life and I’m so glad they are along for the ride.
  • And of course, my faith in a Father who knows the plans he has for me. I can’t express enough how important this truth has been for me these past few months. So greatful for his love.

And as for some petty, 1st world things I’m thankful for…

  • Starbucks lattes
  • Pinterest
  • Boots and Sweater Weather
  • My new living room practically furnished by Craigslist (post coming soon)
  • Many DIYs I have done this summer and fall I can’t wait to show you guys (posts to come)
  • The Crock Pot. Seriously.
  • Pug snores.
  • Charlie Brown.
  • Turkey on Thursday.

It feels good to be back. Thanks for coming back to read and for sticking out my hyadus. Be back soon!

