Well, it’s the last two weeks of the year and I feel like I’m at that exact place of panic I was a year ago. Packing. Working. Going out of town for Christmas. Packing. Working. Moving. Packing. Cleaning. It’s like a bad version of Ground Hog Day. Actually, that movie can’t get much worse.

So while I’m busy being all “Bah-Hum-Bug”, I do have big plans for my new room. Here’s what I have so far…

To make a long story short, the furniture I had was borrowed from a friend for many years. Now that I am out of college and can afford some new pieces, I have decided to return them to her and get my own things after the move. Which means, living out of some boxes and bags for a few weeks. Small price to pay for not having to move furniture twice, right? So, no biggy.

So, with the the new furniture, I have all kinds of ideas for my room including my bed, drapes, and some wall art along with picking a paint color (coming in a later post).

This dresser from IKEA has been calling my name for some time now. I’m planning to answer the call with my Christmas money in hand the first week of 2012!HEMNES 8-drawer dresser, white Width: 63 3/4 " Depth: 20 1/8 " Height: 38 1/4 "  Width: 162 cm Depth: 51 cm Height: 97 cm  And then I think I might get this little guy which can double as basket storage and a TV stand.

EXPEDIT Shelving unit, white Width: 31 1/8 " Depth: 15 3/8 " Height: 31 1/8 " Max load/shelf: 29 lb  Width: 79 cm Depth: 39 cm Height: 79 cm Max load/shelf: 13 kg

As for my bed, I love the frame I have. But, I think I might go with a softer look and to match my new furniture and do a little DIY padded headboard slip cover project made from a drop cloth that will look a little like this when I’m done. I won’t be using that DIY necessarily because I do want to keep my headboard in good condition underneath incase I ever feel like switching it up.

Pinned Image

In my new room, I will also have a larger window which I plan to get some sun-blocking curtains for. I found this idea on Pinterest and I am smitten. To reflect the drop cloth headboard, I think I might paint some white stripes on 2 drop cloths and create curtians for either side of my window…

Pinned Image

I’ve been eyeing this new duvet from Target for a while now.

That’s all I have for now. I’ll keep you guys updated.

And if I get too busy to blog later this week, I hope you all have a wonderful Christmas and New years!!

