…And Do Your Part to Support!

We all have charitible causes we support. Things that hit home for us and things we give to regualry. Causes that our loved ones have gone through and things that our friends have battled. Things that are close to our heart, things we want to see change or become better before we leave this world. It’s no secret that for me, I have a heart for the country of Haiti. But this post isn’t about me.

It is about my roommate and one of my best friends, Meredith. (Or Mert as I might refer to her from time to time.) For many years now, she has supported breast cancer research. It is something that hits close to home for her as she has seen it directly effect her family. 2 of her aunts were diagnosed with breast cancer. One is now in remission and the other saddly lost her battle a few years ago. While she has always supported the cause by donating and walking in the Susan G. Komen 5K each year, this year she felt led to take it to the next level and has committed to walk in the Avon Walk for Breast Cancer.

For those of you who are not familiar, she along with hundreds of other participants will be walking a total of 39 miles over the coarse of 2 days to raise money for breast cancer research. She has pledged to raise $1800 for the cause and is determined to reach this goal not for herself, but in honor and in memory of those close to her who have fought the fight of breast cancer.

This 2-day walk raises hundreds of thousands of dollars for breast cancer research each year. It is amazing how many people are effected by this growing disease and how much more research is left to be done before it stops taking the lives of our loved ones. I don’t know if you support causes like breast cancer regularly but I ask that you take the time to support your friends and family who pledge their time and energy to these causes. I know first hand that this walk has been a labor of love for Meredith and her team members who also have loved and lost family and friends from this terrible disease.

If you are looking for a way to give, I ask that you consider donating to this cause. You can donate to Meredith’s team The Mammary Clan by visiting the website , www.avonwalk.org/donate and typing in “Meredith Stutts” as the person you wish to donate towards. All the donations are directly linked to her team and donated to the cause immediately.

If you decide to donate in honor of someone who has faught a battle with breast cancer, please email or message me so I can make sure Meredith adds their name to her shirt. She will be writing names all over her shirt to show her thanks to all who supported her and to pay respect to those who have faught this deadly disease.

Along with these donations, her team had t-shirts and tank tops made to raise money for the cause. All proceeds will also go towards their walk. The t-shirts are for sale for $15 and tank tops are $7. If you would like to purchase one, please email me at allinahuff@gmail.com with what size you would like and I will let you know where to send your cash or check*. I will then send you your shirt, postage paid  by me!

Here’s what they look like:

TshirtLayout

BackLayout

Also, if you live in the Charlotte, NC area and would like to support the cause in person, there will be a “Support The Mammary Clan Night” at Boardwalk Billy’s in the University Area on Tuesday, September 27th. Come out for some dinner, play trivia, and donate to The Mammary Clan. You can also buy a t-shirt there!!

By no means am I begging you all to donate to this cause. For the record, Meredith wasn’t even aware I was even dedicating a blog post for her walk. But I do ask that you support some sort of cause. Even if it’s a small donation, every little bit helps!

Thank you in advance for those of you who do chose to donate for being such a supportive “bra” for Mert and The Mammary Clan!

*I will only accept checks from those I know personally.

