Pug turned 5 years old yesterday.  But in dog years, he’s 35.  I’ve been racking my brain all week trying to think of the prefect way to “celebrate” his big birthday without being “that crazy dog owner”. I thought about doing a doggy cupcake of some sort from a local pet bakery. But, I  decided that giving the dog who’s addicted to eating, in general, a cupcake would not be a wise choice. That would make me the enabler. So, then I thought well maybe a new toy would be good. But when said Pug sleeps 20 hours a day, toys aren’t really a big deal anymore. So, while sipping on my coffee yesterday morning, I came up with  the perfect gift.

Is anyone else’s dog obsessed with plastic Easter eggs like mine is? This is seriously the best gift one could ever give him. Other than that cupcake.

When he was a puppy, he got a hold of one from the Easter basket my parents made me one Easter and ever since, he is completely obsessed with them. I think he loves the challenge of breaking them open and then he loves that his mouth fits in them and he can prance around with them in his mouth like he has something he shouldn’t have.

So, I headed to Dollar General, bought him a package of 6 eggs for a buck, and called it a day.

Here he is waiting patiently for me to give him one. Please note the gotee at age 5. He went grey very early. Must be all the stress he endures. Yeah right.

Here he is hording them and trying to play with all 3 at once.

He then started batting them around on the floor. Yall, I should have taken video of it. It’s hillarious. He finally broke one apart and was quite proud of himself here…do you see his smile?

After a full 10 minutes of playing, he had cracked 2 tops and gotten 1 stuck under the shelves. But it sure was a fun 10 minutes!

Don’t worry, I saved the other 3 for another day-o-fun. A long nap and a dentabone later, and he had officially celebreated in style.

I still can’t believe this little rascal was born 5 years ago. Seems like only yesterday that he was this big….

Oh the cuteness. I can hardly stand it.

Warning: Crazy Dog Lady paragraph ahead.

If I may, I’d like to sound like “the crazy dog lady” real quick and just admit that having him these past 5 years has been amazing. He is such a joy in my life, he makes me smile daily, and he truely is this single girl’s companion. It’s so nice to come home to such a well behaved dog who is so happy to see me. It’s nice to have him in my lap each day, sleeping next to me each night, and staring at me at 7 am waiting for his breakfast. He is such a sweet natured pooch and I am so lucky to have him. I know it sounds weird, but he truely did come to me at the right time in my life. He is worth the vet bills, the walks in the rain, and even worth the baths, brushing of teeth, cleaning of the ears, and eye drops; all of which he hates! He’s my Pug and I can’t imagine life without him.

Ok, now that you all think I’m creepy and weird, enough of the sappy “I love my dog”  blog post.

Happy Birthday Old Man. Here’s to 5 (hopefully more) years together.

Love, Mom

