I’ve been reading and thinking a lot about investments lately. Not into stocks and bonds or my 401k but into things with a much greater reward.

As I watched as my Pastor of 23 years stepped down this past Sunday and pass the torch on to our new Pastor, all that kept coming to my mind was his investment in our church family and his investment to his calling. What an amazing picture of how we should pour ourselves into what’s important to us. To give of yourself to things that will bless others will turn a great reward. One of my favorite verses on this is Luke 6:38.

(ESV) “give, and it will be given to you. Good measure, pressed down, shaken together, running over, will be put into your lap. For with the measure you use it will be measured back to you.”

What an inspiring picture of how giving will be returned to us if we give to the right things and with the right spirit. So many times I forget this and get caught up in investing my time and energy into things that will not last. But if I were to keep investing in things such as patience, humility, and loving others, these will give back such greater rewards than things of this world.

So, I encourage you today to remember to invest in things that will give much greater rewards. Don’t let this world bog you down. Invest in things that will bless others.

