This week’s recipes went well! I think they were for the most part successful and I will be making them again for sure!

Meatloaf
Recipe Via: Lipton Onion Soup Box (with 1 substitute ingrediant)

This is how the ingrediants are printed on the box:

1 envelope onion soup mix
2 pounds ground beef
1 1/2 C bread crumbs
2 eggs
1/3 C ketchup
3/4 C water (if needed)

This is how I made it:

1 envelope onion soup mix
1 pound ground beef
1 pound mild pork sausage
1 1/2 C bread crumbs
2 eggs
1/3 C ketchup
3/4 C water (if needed)

Mix all ingrediants in a large mixing bowl. Put in a loaf Pyrex  or 9X13 Pyrex and bake for 1 hour at 450 degrees. After 1 hour, pull out, cut into slices and put back in the oven for 30 to 45 more minutes or until the meat is no longer pink in the middle.

My Experience: This meal was a HUGE hit! I had Jennifer and Jessica over to the new place for some much needed girl time and was very nervous about cooking this meatlaof for the first time for them. But it turned out really good and I think everyone enjoyed it!

Reason for the Sausage: I was planning on trying a slow-cooker meatloaf recipe but at the last second decided to try the Lipton recipe to avoid the slow-cooker prep work that morning. The original recipe I was going to use called for sausage so I just used the same meat and followed the Lipton recipe from there. The sausage added a whole other flavor to the meatloaf which I think made it extra tastey. I highly recommend it!

Spinich with Garlic Chips
Recipe via: Pioneer Woman

TPW_3752

  • 5 cloves Garlic, Peeled And Sliced Very Thin
  • 3 Tablespoons Olive Oil
  • 2 packages (6 Oz Each Package) Baby Spinach
  • ½ teaspoons Kosher Salt
  • Freshly Ground Black Pepper

Pour olive oil into a large skillet and add garlic slices. Turn on stove to medium -low heat and allow garlic and oil to heat together. Watch the garlic and stir to turn as it begins to bubble. Remove from oil with a slotted spoon as soon as it turns golden brown; do not allow to burn. Drain on a paper towel-lined plate. Pour off half the oil into a container and set aside. Add one bag of spinach to the skillet. Immediately begin turning gently with a spoon. Spinach will immediately begin wilting. Cook and stir only for one minute, adding salt and pepper to taste. Remove spinach to a plate. Add remaining oil (the oil you poured from the pan) and add remaining spinach. Repeat cooking process. Serve spinach immediately (it should still be slightly al dente/crisp) with the garlic chips sprinkled over the top.

My Experience: I made this to go along with the Meatloaf and I thought it turned out pretty good. I thought it would be a good contrast to do something leafy and green. And you can never go wrong with garlic. I thought this was good but not great. I don’t think it was the recipe though, I think it was me. My garlic chips were more like garlic pieces and they weren’t as crisp as the recipe makes them sound. So it was my bad, not the recipe. I think I will attempt to make it again in the spring maybe.

Pot Roast
Recipe Via: Me

2-3 pound chuck roast
red potatoes, diced
baby carrots
beef broth
Lipton Onion Soup Mix

Combine all ingrediants in a slow cooker. Cook on low for 8 hours or high for 6.

My Experience: Easiest meal ever.  Mert (shout out!) put everything in the pot on her lunch break and when I got home, the house smelled heavenly! I turned it from low to high for the last 2 hours and it was pull-apart perfect by dinner time. Definitley making it again.

Bacon and Parmessan Pasta
Recipe via: Tasty Kitchen

Tasty Kitchen Blog Bacon and Parmesan Pasta

  • 1 pound Bacon
  • ¼ teaspoons Crushed Red Pepper Flakes
  • 1 pound Rigatoni Or Penne Pasta
  • ½ cups Heavy Cream
  • ¼ cups Cream Cheese
  • ¼ cups Grated Parmesan Cheese
  • 2 whole Eggs
  • ¼ teaspoons Freshly Ground Black Pepper

In a skillet, fry the bacon. Sprinkle with red pepper flakes. When done, remove bacon until cool enough to handle and roughly chop. Meanwhile, cook the pasta in boiling salted water until done (according to package instructions). Place cream and cream cheese in a small saucepan. Heat over low until cream cheese is melted, and whisk until smooth. Remove from heat. Add the parmesan cheese, eggs, and pepper and whisk until blended. Drain pasta (reserving 1/2 cup of hot water) and return to pot. Immediately add the white sauce and toss to coat. The hot pasta will cook the eggs. Stir in the bacon, and add some reserved pasta water if needed to loosen the sauce.

My Experience: This sounded AMAZING when I read the recipe so I quickly bought the ingrediants in my next grocery trip. After waiting about 2 weeks, I finally got around to making it Friday night and it wasn’t what I expected. My house smelled wonderful while cooking the bacon (and still somewhat does) but the sauce was very heavy and didn’t coat the noodles like I thought it would. I guess I was expecting more of a alfredo type sauce and it was more like a pasta salad type sauce. It was just ok in my book. But I did get the idea of adding bacon to alfredo sauce…how good does that sound??

I’m now on the search for some new recipes to try in the coming weeks. If you have a favorite you think I should try, please send it my way via comment or email!!

