And I don’t mean your corny Uncle Bob who insists on telling stupid jokes every Thanksgiving and Christmas.

I had the privilege of attending the 3rd Annual Horton Thanksgiving this past Saturday. Since attending all 3 so far, I have made it a personal goal to make a better dish each year. My favorite thing to make? Appetizers!

So this year, I thought about doing a cheese ball. Nothing fancy. Just a homemade cheese ball. But when I got to looking at all the recipes out there, it soon became my goal to create…

THE 3 CHEESE BALL PLATTER

I chose my 3 recipes, made a trip to the grocery store, and I was in business. They are SO EASY to make! You really can’t screw them up! Here’s my 3 fool-proof recipes for your holiday parties this season!

Disclaimer: I used the cream cheese that was 1/3 less fat. DO NOT use fat free! You will be sorry you did!! Also please notice all the cheeses need to be room temp when making. This will make the work load on your mixing arm or hand mixer much easier.

Bacon Ranch Cheese Ball

2  8 oz. cream cheese blocks – room temp
1 packet of Hidden Valley Ranch Salad Dressing Mix
bacon bits

Combine cheese and dressing mix. Cover and chill for at least 3 hours. Form cheese into a ball and roll in bacon bits until ball is covered.

Li’l Smokey Cheese Ball

1.5 cups shredded Smoked Gouda cheese- room temp
2   8 oz. cream cheese blocks – room temp
2 tbsp unsalted butter – room temp
2 tbsp milk
1 tbsp steak sauce
1 cup chopped walnuts or pecans

Combine both cheeses, milk, butter, and sauce. Mix with a hand mixer on a low setting. Cover and chill for 3 hours or longer. Form mix into a ball. Roll in the chopped nuts until ball is covered.

3-Cheese Cheese Ball

2 8 oz. cream cheese blocks – room temp
2 cups shredded cheddar cheese – room temp
4 oz. blue cheese crumbles – room temp
1 tbsp soy sauce
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp onion powder
1 tsp black pepper
crushed French’s Fried Onions

Combine cheeses, soy sauce, powders, and pepper. Mix with a hand mixer on a low setting. Cover and chill for at least 3 hours. Form into a ball. Roll in the French’s onions until the ball is covered.

No bowl picture for this one. Sorry guys.

And here is the final product…

To avoid the “which one is this?” question all night, I made these little signs to go in each ball. Cute huh? I didn’t get a shot with the crackers because it was pretty much decended upon right after hitting the table. I used 4 different crackers though: veggie crackers, wheat thins, captians wafers, and pretzel chips. It was a big hit and I highly recommend these recipes for all of your holiday parties!

And because we looked so cute in our matching outfits and coats, here’s me and the hostess! It was a total coincidence!


It was a great party! Can’t wait till next year!

