When I brought this little jaock-o-lantern candy dish with candy corn into the office about 2 weeks ago, I had no idea what I was getting myself into. While I knew that candy corn is loved by all, I had no idea what a hit this would be among my coworkers. The candy corn (or actually indian corn – couldn’t find candy corn at Wal-Mart for some reason) you see here is the 4th bag in 2 weeks! You read that right! 4th BAG! Luckily this sugary goodness is quite cheap and can be bought a few bags at the time limiting my trips to the store to stock up. But wow, I had no idea it was going to be such a hit!

Oh, and the best part? I get to hear the phrase “I love candy corn” every single time someone goes to open it. It’s like the “open sesame” of the candy corn dish. Aparently everyone feels the need to proclaim their love before they grab a handful. It’s quite entertaining.

And yes, that is a pink monkey hanging from our cabinet door above the fax machine in the background. That’s another story for another day.

As I mentioned before, I house sat last week for some friends who were on family vacation. While I loved having the house to myself and hanging out with their pups, I was not prepared for the drive. Their place is out on a lake and there is one way in and one way out. Therefore, traffic was the name of the game during the 2 times I commuted to work and from work each day. We are talking an hour to work and an hour home. So, 2 hours in the car each day. Which is a huge difference in my 15 minute commute. So, that was a challenge for my patience every day.

The last night I was there, I met a friend for dinner and just happened to be stuck in traffic over the water way long enough to snap this shot of the sunset. I thought it was beautiful to watch it set overthe water. This is something us east-coasters never usually get to see since the sun sets in the west. But that night, I had a front row seat. It was pretty awesome. And as all sunsets do, it made me marvel at how truely awesome God’s handywork is.

And last but certainly not least, I caught this rare moment between the dog and cat this weekend. I was trying to get a shot of the kitten playing in the bags when the pug walked up right at the moment I took the picture and this is what I got. They are getting along much better now. There is still a bit of a rift between them as far as who’s in charge. We’re working on that.

