• Tuesday: 2 mile easy run
  • Wednesday: 3 mile easy run
  • Saturday: Hog Jog 5K, finished in 36 minutes, PR of 12

It was a pretty simple week for me. I didn’t focus too much on lots of miles since I knew I had the Hog Jog on Saturday. It was a really great way to kick off running outside. I seriously need to start focusing on that!

As I was running the 5K on Saturday, all that I could think about was that I would be doing this again in a few short months…but times it by 4. Somewhat daunting.

I keep asking friends who have done a half marathon before if they, in all honesty, think I can do it or if I’m just being niave. There are some days where I really can see myself doing it. Like 2 weeks ago when I pushed through and ran those 4 miles and felt great, I could really see myself running accross the finish line at the half.  But then other days, it’s all I can do to even make it to the treadmill and I consider the day I registered as a moment of temporary insanity.

I guess it’s normal to have days where I’m confident and others where I think I’m nuts. I’m hoping to really gain some strength in the coming months as I run outside more.

I also got an email where they are offering “guided tours” of the race course for those who would like to get a preview of what is to come. I’m considering doing it but then again, I’m worried it will cause me to second guess myself. I’m going to think on it a little longer.

I’ll be running 4 times this week and ending with a 5th, outside long run on Saturday morning. As crazy as it sounds, I’m aiming for a 6 mile run. It’s time to get serious! I feel like I say that every week but seriously, I’m getting down to business this week FOR SURE!!

