• Monday: Zumba for 2 hours
  • Tuesday: 1.5 easy run and a game of kickball (if that even counts)
  • Wednesday: 3 miles of intervals
  • Saturday: 4 mile run outside
  • Sunday: Elliptical for 30 minutes, core training, 2 mile easy run

So, I walk into Zumba on Monday night and it was ZUMBATHON NIGHT. I had totally forgot. My roommates had bailed on Zumba that night due to not feeling good so I was just going to put in my hour and call it quits. Little did I know, Monday night was 2 solid hours of Zumba. It was led by different instructors and there had to have been at least a 100 women in that gym dancing. I figured I had already drove all the way over, I might as well Zumba at least until my instructor did her portion. Well I should have known they would save her for last since she is the best. Needless to say, I was so tired when I got home. 2 hours of Zumba is exhuasting! Great workout though.

I’m proud of the running I did this week. I’ve kind of been hitting a wall at 3 miles lately so I tried switching it up between intervals, easy runs, and outside runs in order to push through. I was really excited to do my 4 miles on Saturday. It felt good to hit that point. I’m looking forward to going even further next week.

I did purchase a little running gear to help with the running outside.

Fuel Belt Slim Pocket Race Number Belt

Beside’s it’s obvious good looks (hah), I thought this would be light weight and easy to run with to hold essentials such as my house key and my iPod. Something else I’ve been runnign with lately is my Blackberry. Now before you all think I’m crazy for running with my phone, it’s not because I’m addicted to being near it at all times. As some of you roll your eyes at that last statement, I still claim I AM NOT. It’s more for this free app I found last week.

This is a FREE app that acts as a GPS system which will track your duration, speed, and distance while you run. And since one of those nifty Garmin GPS watches is out of the question for my budget (those baby’s cost up to $200!), this works just fine! It also uploads your info to their website which will keep track of all your running stats for you.

So, I have a question for my running friends. I’ve been reading my first issue if “Runers World” and they highly recommend stowing away a gel of some sort to give you an extra boost of energy while you run a half or full marathon. What do you all think? Anyone have one they particularly like?

One last note about this week. I hear from a reliable source  (ahem Brooke)that when a marathon states that “they enforce a time limit”, this means they have a sweeper come through and pick up the people who don’t finish in the aloted time. SERIOUSLY? As if I don’t have enough to worry about with just finishing now I’ve got THE SWEEPER to worry about?!?! I feel some nightmares in my future. I guess if nothing else, THE SWEEPER can be motivational. I feel the need to capilize it each time I use it now. Scary stuff.

