• Tuesday: Ran intervals for 2 miles and weights
  • Wednesday: Elliptical for 45 minutes and weights
  • Sunday: Ran 2.5 miles (outside!) and 45 min core workout

I decided it was just too depressing to look at all those empty days that I didn’t get in any sort of exercise. So, I just listed the measly 3 days I did. It was just one of those weeks where life got in the way. And you know what? It’s ok. Those 3 days is such an achievement comparied to the the ZERO days I did any sort of exercise this time last year. So, I’m not going to beat myself up over it. It is what it is!

For the record, I do have good excuses  reasons for missing my workout plan on Thursday and Saturday. Monday, however, there’s no good reason.

Ok enough about my slacking. On to progress. The interval training was new to me this week and if I’m being quite honest, I’m not crazy about it. It’s tough to go from walking to running like that but it also raises the heart rate and is good for passing the miles quickly. They really did go by faster while doing the intervals. I guess it gives you something else to focus on rather than the mileage. I’m hoping running the intervals will help the transition to running outdoors be easier.

It was really great to get outside and run on Sunday. It was PERFECT running weather because it was cool and cloudy so I didn’t get overheated too quickly. I drove through my neighborhood Friday to get an idea of what the mileage was on a loop I’ve been wanting to run and it turns out the loop is exactly half a mile. So, I tied up my tennis shoes, popped in the iPod and ran that bad boy 5 times on Sunday. It was pretty easy the first 2 times around, the second 2 times were pretty tough and my legs we definitley feeling it that last time around. But it felt good to run outside. I’m going to focus on running outside a lot more so that I don’t get hooked on the treadmill again.

This week, I’m going to try something new. I don’t want to give details just yet. I think I’ll try it out this week and then report back Monday if it works out. Either way, there will be much more to report about next week, that is for sure!

