Holy moly, I’m back at it full swing. This week wasn’t too bad and believe it or not, I didn’t hate it! I started off very slow for obvious reasons…

  • Monday: Zumba class
  • Tuesday: 1 mile run and weight training
  • Wednesday: Swam laps
  • Thursday 2 mile run and weight training
  • Friday: Rest
  • Saturday: 3 mile run Rest again
  • Sunday: Rest 3 mile run

I was able to swim some laps while babysitting on Wednesday. I watch a little boy who has a neighborhood pool so I was lucky enough to squeeze in a little bit of swimming for myself before heading in for the night.  It’s all about multitasking!

Zumba is also a great way to get some cardio in during the week. The class I go to is awesome and I leave there soaked in sweat wach week. I’m so glad our instructor is back and I look forward to going every Monday!

Goals for next week are to focus on intervals and to get up to 4 miles by the end of the week. It trips me out that a few months ago, I was struggling to hit 4 miles and now, I’m planning on hitting it in my second week of training. Ah-mazing!

Other than just getting back into running regulary, the actual weight of running a half marathon hit me on Friday. I mean that’s 13.1 miles. Can I really do that?!?!? I keep asking for reassurance from my other running friends who have either run a half marathon or who have been watching me train. I keep hearing from them that I’ll be fine but then when I tell a non-runner that I’m considering doing a half marathon, I watch as their eyes bug out followed by “Really??” And the jitters return instantly.

With the Cooper 10K, it was all about training for that giant bridge. That incline that was destined to make my calves cramp just at the pure site of it.

For this half marathon, the goal is just to make it to the finish in under 3 hours. This time around, it’s all about hitting small goals and staying motivated all the way through. This run is not flat, mind you. There are small inclines and declines all throughout the run. But if I want to finish strong, I’m going to need to find a way to set small goals and focus on reaching them one by one until all 13.1 miles are over.

I emailed a friend who lives in another state from me but who I’ve been following on facebook. She’s taken up running this past year as well. I asked for some advice and tips on running and she offered some really great tips like training plans and finding a running group.

She also suggested to subscribe to Runners World Magazine

My roomie, Mert, subscribes and I get to look at hers every now and then. But I signed up for my very own copy the other day! I got an email that they will be sending me my first copy this week. I’m hoping getting this and reading inspriational stories and tips will be helpful when I’m starting to lose motivation. We shall see!

One week down…a bunch to go.

