I haven’t said anything because I didn’t want to jinx it. I don’t even believe in jinx. But sometimes when you say things out loud, you tend to kind of freak out and change your mind. But I sort of have a big announcement that has been weighing on my mind. I feel like it’s time to tell you guys…

I HAVE DECIDED TO RUN A HALF MARATHON IN DECEMBER.

Yeah. I know. I’m crazy, right?!? I’ve been thinking and mulling over this for a few days now and I think it would be AWESOME to be able to say I went from no running to running a half marathon in a year. Don’t you? I’ve been really considering this for a long time. I have friends and roommates who have all run one and I think it is a HUGE achievment. As with most big decisions, I weighed the pros and cons…

The pros are:
a) the run is here in Charlotte aka no traveling necessary
b) it will give me a goal to work towards in the not so motivational holiday months
c) be a great way to finish out 2010.

The only cons I can think of are:
a) it will be tough to train for and
b) I will have to get over my  fear of issue with running in the cold.

But I think the pros FAR out weigh the cons. I won’t be running to achieve a certain time or won’t be pushing myself to stick with anyone else. I’ll just be doing it for me. This will be a way for me to finish out 2010 with a bang, the year when I became a runner.

I’m so excited and scared of this goal all at the same time. But I think it will be well worth it in the end. In order to keep me going, I’ll be doing a few 5Ks through out the fall. I figure these small races will keep me going for this big one. And will give me some good practice for running in big groups of people which is something you have to get use to as I learned from The Cooper back in March.

So. It’s out there. I put it out there for all to read. I’m beginning to run again this week and will be throwing in some other cardio and weight training along the way. I have roughly 4 and 1/2 months of trainging before the big day. So, this also means my Monday workout recaps will be back starting next Monday!

Here’s a preview of the course. It’s through downtown Charlotte so at least the run will be pretty. Hopefully running through the streets of downtown will help take my mind off of the incline, the cold air, and the fact that I’m running 13.1 miles. I’m starting to sweat just from thinking about it. December 11th will be here before I know it!

