I don’t know about you but I had a really great weekend. It was one of those weekends where I had very little planned but yet I was able to do alot of really great “summer things”. The roomies and I started off with Taste of Charlotte after work on Friday.

For those of you who have no idea what this is, it is a street festival they hold in Uptown Charlotte (which is actually downtown – we’re a complex city!). They close off Tryon Street for the weekend and all the local restaurants, delis, bakeries, and even some craft vendors set up booths. You buy tokens (15 for $20 or 7 for $10) and you can walk around and buy samples from all the restaurant booths. It’s a really cool way to try some food out from new restaurants you may have never been to or heard of. It was a lot of fun and we enjoyed walking around and trying the food.

After we ran out of coins and got sick of the crowd, we decided to get a table outside of Rockbottom, one of my FAVORITE spots in Uptown! We enjoyed the nice weather outside while splitting their famous Chicken Nachos. I had a glass of the Strawberry Lemonade and it was PHENOM! A great end to the week and beginning to the weekend.

Home

I enjoyed sleeping in on Saturday, something I haven’t done in quite a while, and then ran to the grocery store to get some supplies for my appetizer to take to Jessica and Jeremy’s cookout! I made my salsa early enough so it would have time to sit in the fridge and “marinate”. When I walked over to the fridge, I stepped in a puddle of water. Not a good sign. Our fridge has been on the fritz so it wasn’t any huge surprise. It’s working again for now but we will see how much longer it will be before we need a replacement!

I headed over to the cookout around 6. It was so great to see everyone and enjoy some burgers and dogs. They recently put in wood floors by themselves! They looked great! They also repainted their kitchen, dining room, and living room. I thought it looked great and it was cool to finally see it in person rather than just through blog pics. The party went well on into the night and was, as always, a great success. I always look forward to their cookouts.

Sunday, I was invited to go on a spur-of-the-moment lake trip. I enjoyed trying out a new church with some friends and then afterwards we headed up to enjoy the lake. We hung out on the dock, floated around in the water, and just relaxed. A few hours in, a thunderstorm blew up so we packed it up and headed home. I did enjoy the few hours we got of sun and relaxation though!

It was a great weekend of just doing what I wanted to do. Sometimes it’s nice to have a weekend like that every now and then. I think it was just what I needed. I didn’t get any pictures sadly of my weekend and my regular readers should not be surprised. Sorry!!

This week I’m planning on getting in some reading, some running, and a few nights out with friends. I’m looking forward to it.

How was everyone else’s weekends??

