It’s time for the great unveiling! I finished my very first DIY project and I think it turned out pretty good, all things considered.

What do you think?

I know it’s not the most ornimental nightstand but it’s solid wood and will be a long lasting piece. I found it on Craigslist for $15. I talked the seller down to $10. Not bad, right? It had some spots on the top and the base was a little wobbly but nothing a good screw driver couldn’t fix.

So, I brought it home, tightened all the screws and then set out to work on it. Here’s my process…

I took some advice from a DIY website I read a while back and bought all disposable supplies so there would be very little clean up seeing as I don’t have a ton of use for paint brushes, trays, and rollers. I avoided the paint thinner issue and stuck to the small $1 roller, tray, and brush. Best. Decision. Ever. And that small roller? Could not have been more perfect for the size of my table.  Oh, and how cool is my girly screwdriver? Love it.

Now, before I get down to the goods, I’m sure many of you are thinking “how did you come up with your plan of attack?”  Good question. I used the “How to Paint Furniture” directions from Young House Love. They have painted SO many pieces of furniture that I knew I couldn’t go wrong with their DIY instructions. If you haven’t checked their blog about how they rennovated their house, you must. Right now. Ok, maybe not RIGHT now. I really want you to stay and see my table. But later, for sure, check it out!

Ok. So, I used an oil-based primer in white.  I only used about a quarter of the can so there is plenty left for any other projects that come my way! That’s the best part about primer. One can will last you a few projects.

Now the primer I bought was specially formulated so that sanding is not necessary. So, I chose not to sand down the table. It honestly was not a high gloss piece to begin with. So, the primer did the job for me. I flipped the table over to do the underside and corners first as I knew the flat table top would be easiest to paint.

Then I flipped it over to finish the top flat sides. I let it dry for the afternoon and ended up actually bringing it inside to dry later on since an afternon thunderstorm came up.

So, a few days later once all the rain stopped, I brought the table back out to finish it off. After lightly sanding it down to make sure all the surfaces were smooth and free of primer blobs (a very technical term, I know), I broke out  this lovely shade of…drum roll please….Green Galore! I absolutely fell in love with this color and when I brought my Anthro knob in with me to match it, I just loved the contrast.

I chose to use latex semi-gloss paint. And I can’t stress enough how wonderful the disposable supplies are. The best part about this paint is that it comes off with soap and water. So I actually rinsed them out and reused them for coat #2.

I was really pleased with the coverage and the clean up. I applied it the same way as the primer, flipped it over and did the bottom first and the flat tops last with the roller. It’s important to let the first coat completely dry so I left it alone for the night.  Here is a picture after I brought it in from outside. Thuderstorms have been rolling in each night so I didn’t want to take the chance and leave it outside. Oh, and apparently the Pug does not appreciate it when he is not the reason for the photo. Thus his cameo appearance.

I sanded it down again and applied the 2nd coat of green the next day. After another day of drying, I applied a water-based poly-acrylic coat to make the table shiny as well as seal the paint to make the surface wipable.

As for the drawer, I found this fabric on sale at Hobby Lobby (love that place!) and thought it went PERFECT with the Green Galore and with my Anthro knob. Not to mention, the flower on the knob somewhat mimics the print in the fabric. Love it!

I bought half a yard and set out to work! So, here’s how I did it.

I layed the fabrc in the drawer and pretty much eyeballed how much was needed. Then I cut it to size leaving plenty of extra on each side to work with.

Then I removed the fabric and coated the bottom of the drawer in a thick layer of Mod Podge glue with a small paint brush.

I then layed the fabric on top and smoothed out all the bubbles on the bottom of the drawer making the sure the fabric was pulled tight into all the corners and creases.

After it was tight on the bottom, I applied more Mod Podge to the 4 sides of the drawer and did the same thing. Pulled the fabric tight and got rid of all the bubbles.

This next part was the most time consuming. I took my fabric sheers and cut the fabric down to about 1/2 inch around the perimeter of the dawer. I then folded the fabric over to make a crease and then glued the fabric down to create a nice seam at the top fo the drawer. The corners were a little more difficult and I pretty much just glued them down as tight as I could then cut them down and folded them over as well to look as seemless as possible. This was more or less trial & error on my part. The best part about working with fabric is that it “gives” a lot more than contact paper or wrapping paper. It also adds a diferent texture to the drawer which I think gives more character.

TA DA!

The final touch was the knob…

And here it is. Is it perfect? Not at all. But that’s ok. That’s part of the character of a DIY piece. That’s also part of learning.

And here’s the Pug posing with the new nightstand. Cracks me up how as soon as I pull out the camera, he thinks he’s suppose to be in front of it. I think he’s proud of it too.

