A while back, I made a personal decision. One that I am completely at peace with and think is the most logical, normal, decision one could make. Decisions like this take a lot of thought and contemplation. It is not one I made quickly nor is it one that I felt was a decision made in haist. I made it because my time is precious and it had to be done. It was time to come to terms with it and stick to my guns.

I, Melanie Huffman will never again get addicted to a television show which takes up 2 nights of my week.

You all know what I’m talking about. Those shows that suck you in the first night so you MUST watch the second night. It’s a ploy by the networks that run these shows for ratings and I refuse to give in. Sure, I was an addict to these shows at one time. But I feel so liberated to say, NO. I refuse to sit on my couch to catch 2 nights of the same show.

I know what you all are thinking. Hello…DVR. And I hear you. But DVRing a 2 night a week show only takes up space in my DVR leaving me with a list of shows I still need to watch because I have been sucked in. Which is no better then sitting down to watch them in prime time.

Let’s be realistic. There are people, actual human beings that I don’t even want to spend 2 nights of my week with. Why in the world would I commit to spending 2 nights a week with strangers who are making money off the fact that I am alienating myself to watch them in front of the television? When you put it like that, it sort of changes your opinion, huh?

Now, I started this little experiement of giving up these shows about 2 years ago. And it has been the best decision ever. I highly recommend it to those of you who are a slave to the DVR or to the 2-night a week shows. It’s truely liberating to have your nights back.

I gave up this one 2 years ago…

This one is THE WORST. It will trick you and start taking up 3 nights some weeks if you aren’t careful.

I gave up this one about 2 years ago as well…

In the summer, this one sometimes is still inticing…

Now, my idea of a good show?

 If you haven’t seen this show, you are seriously missing out.
It. Is. Hillarious.

I also love this one…

Now, this one is a 2 hour show but it only takes one night. It just so happens to also fall on the night that I babysit and it comes on after little man goes to bed. Coincidence? I think not.
Ok, yeah it’s probably a coincidence.

If you feel like tv is starting to take over your nights like I did, I highly recommend you let go the 2 night a week shows. It will give you so much of your week back. I’ve been ‘2-night a week show sober’ for 2 years and I couldn’t be happier!

