As I was emailing a dear friend this morning, she asked me to share with her what’s going on with me. I of course went with my patent answer at first of “Oh you know, running, Haiti, and roommate stuff”. Wanting more details,  she asked me to share any unblogged material if I had any. I immediatly knew what I wanted to tell her. After typing it out to her, I realized I don’t know why I hadn’t blogged about it till now.

Just incase you didn’t know already, the Lord is awesome. Just when I think I can handle things on my own, he reminds me he is still in control. And that is exactly what happened to me this week. With the trip coming up so fast, I was beginning to worry about my financial situation. Now, don’t get me wrong, I have saved and have been a very wise spender leading up to my trip but I was a little worried about the state of my bank account when I returned. It was obviously a worry of mine. So I of course went to the Lord in prayer. I wanted nothing to hinder my focus on the work of this mission trip. Within 3 days of that prayer, the Lord provided me with some extra funds to provide me with some peace of mind.

To be completely honest, I have had other concerns as well. And as much as I try not to be a type A person about it, the unknown is a little scary. Having not been to Haiti in close to 8 years and with all of it happening so fast, my human nature is to worry. But I’ve really been praying and spending time with God about it lately and trying to express to him my nerves.

Recently, I came accross this verse which I have read a hundred times. But like the Lord tends to do, he gave me the ability to see new meaning in it.

“Therefore, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of it’s own.”
Matthew 6:34

So, I gave it to God. All my worry and anxious feelings. All my nerves about what to expect. I gave it to Him. And he has given me an unbelievable peace about it all. Don’t you love when the Lord takes away those humanly scardy cat feelings and leaves you feeling whole in him?

So, I’m ready. I am exctied, willing, able and unbelievably content in knowing that he is going to do amazing things on this trip.

On a totally almost completely unrelated note, I did go to Goodwill yesterday and found some MAJOR scores! I will take some pics tonight and post about my Haiti Trip Finds tomorrow!

