I realized about half way through the day yesterday that it was a BIG day for me and I had completely forgot!

Yesterday was my 3 year anniversary at my job!

For privacy purposes and confidentiality purposes, I pretty much keep my work life off the blog. Mainly because, well, I don’t ever want to give my higher ups a reason to “let down the hammer” if they ever decide to google my name one day. So, I kind of keep it private. Most of the people who read this (or at least I think so) already know what I do and where I work so it’s no big deal. But if you are just DYING to know, email me.

To make a long story short, 3 years ago from yesterday, I was a lowly temp just trying to live on my own. Life after college was not so easy for me. I had decided to use the summer after I graduated as the finale to my college career as a summer camp counselor. I’m not sure if this was a mistake or not. I wanted a “grown up job” but wasn’t ready to face the music yet. So I lived like a college kid for 3 more months to prolong the eternal plunge into adulthood.

After the summer ended, I took my first temp job and it lasted 4 months. Once the holidays hit, I was in temp employee limbo. The temp agency found a few other jobs to keep me busy for most of January and February. I wasn’t really comfortable just going inbetween jobs but looking back, this I think was the BEST decision ever. Most people don’t like being temps because there isn’t any stability and you don’t know whats next. I felt the same way. But those 2 months of “floating around” as I call it, taught me to be flexible, learn quickly, and adapt to different situations. Not to mention rely on God and his faithful promise to provide for me.

On March 1st, I had an interview for a “temp to perm” position. To those of you who never temped before, the “temp to perm” position was the holy grail of all temp jobs. Most temps go from a 2 week job here to a 3 day job there to filling in for the lady on maternity leave for a few weeks. Temp to perm meant stability. It meant possibly a future. So, I of course was SO excited to see they were interested in me.

So, the interview went great and I started on a Tuesday morning as receptionist and after 3 months of being a temp, they asked me to come on perminantly with the company. I’ve moved up the chain a good bit but I’m still happily at the same place. And I couldn’t be more thankful or happy. Sure, I have days where I think I could be doing something else but for now, I feel like I’m right where I’m suppose to be. Sure, some day I’ll move on but right now, I’m good.

How did I celebrate my 3 years? Do you even need to ask? Happy Friday Bloggy Peeps!

