• Monday: Run 2.5 miles (treadmill)
  • Tuesday: Rest (sore arms)
  • Wednesday: Rest (sore arms)
  • Thursday: Bike 6 miles (arms still sore)
  • Friday: Run 2 miles (outside)
  • Saturday: Rest
  • Sunday: 4 mile walk

Well, my week of training didn’t go exactly as I had planned. When I looked at my schedule this week for working out, I knew it would be achievable. I wasn’t worried. And I started off with a bang. I did a solid 2.5 mile run on Monday and I was proud of it. Then…Tuesday came.

I had made a doc appointment to go get some shots for my upcoming trip to Haiti (yay!). I got my shots on Monday afternoon (one in each arm) and I felt fine afterwards so I went ahead to the gym. Tuesday, was a TOTALLY different story. For starters, I got no sleep due to rolling over on my very sore arms all night long. I couldn’t hardly lift my arms for the pain. So, Tuesday became a rest day. And so did Wednesday. 2 rest days?? In the middle of the week?? I haven’t done that…well…EVER since I started my training. But it just wasn’t going to be a high volume training week for me. Sometimes life happens.

I did get back in the gym and bike 6 miles on Thursday  in order to get some sort of cardio in. I finally felt good enough to get back to hitting the pavement on Friday with a quick 2 mile run outside after work. I’m not going to lie, I had very little motivation or stamina. I even walked a little bit of it, proving to me that running outside consistantly these next 5 weeks is ging to be crucial.

With the beautiful weather Sunday, a leasurly walk on The Greenway was a pertfect way to spend Sunday afternoon. It helped me to kind of recharge and refocus on a strict training week ahead. It’s time to buckle down!

Goals for this week include running outside at least 3 days and no walking! I’m hoping to hit 4 miles on the treadmill and 3 miles outside. 

Even though it was a somewhat slow week for me, I think it gave me a good perspective on the big picture ahead. With my Haiti trip and the run coming up so fast, I think I needed a chance to breathe, get organized, and get motivated. So, here we go!

