April 3.

I will be boarding a plane along with the rest of a mission team from my home church Ridgecrest Baptist in Durham, NC heading towards the country of Haiti.

I haven’t been to Haiti since 2002 (8 years ago – wow!). But I have always had a huge heart for missions, specifically that country. And after seeing everything that Haiti has gone through these past few weeks, I have felt nothing but heartache for those people. After speaking with a friend about wanting to help out in other ways then monetarily, she said she would keep an ear open for any opportunities that may become available.

I’ve been setting money aside and also praying that whatever the Lord’s will that it be done. If it was meant for me to go, I would go. If the opportunity didn’t come, I would donate the money to Stop Hunger Now which goes to Haiti relief efforts.

About a week ago, some spots on the mission team became open. I let them know I was interested in going if there was room. Yesterday, I found out there was a spot for me if I was still interested.

Committing to go on this trip feels so different from when I was in high school. While my heart is the same, I think going as an adult will be a completely different experience. As a teenager, I wanted to go for 3 main reasons:

  1. I wanted to make a difference.
  2. I wanted to go out of the country.
  3. I wanted to go because my friends were going.

As an adult, I am going for 1 reason: I feel led to go.

I am really looking forward to what the Lord has to teach me through this trip. I want to be reminded of what I should be thankful for and I want to help in my VERY small way. I just want to be there. Be on that soil surrounded by those people and I want to help pick up the pieces in whatever way I can.

It’s going to be VERY different from when I went in high school. For one, we aren’t even sure where we are staying yet. The guest house we use to stay at is no longer stable. A lot of it was destroyed in the earthquake. So there is a good chance we may be camping. It is still up in the air along with a lot of the other details.

All I know is that it is going to be an emotionally and physically trying trip and I am so excited and nervous all at the same time. In a really good way. I’m extatic to be a part of the trip and am looking forward to things to come.

Please keep our team in your prayers as we prepare for this trip!

