• Monday: Run 3 miles (!)
  • Tuesday: Run 2 miles
  • Wednesday: Elliptical for 40 minutes
  • Thursday: Unexpected Rest Day (sick)
  • Friday: Rest
  • Saturday:Unexpected Rest Day (snow storm of 2010)
  • Sunday: Rest

Ok, so I should retitle this post “The Week of Setbacks” because it seemed like it was one thing after another. I was proud of hitting the 3 mile mark on Monday. That was a big boost for me! It was REALLY tough though. But in the end, I’m really glad I stuck it out.

On Wednesday, I started noticing a sore throat and stuffy nose coming on. I just figured it was the weather changing so much. Thursday it had blossomed into a full blown cold including sneezing, going through a box of tissues, and a sinus headache. So needless to say, I decided running wasn’t the best cure for my symptoms. I took Thursday off voluntarily. Friday I took a sick day from work and watched the snow start to fall.

Saturday and Sunday I was snowed in. Not to mention everything was pretty much closed down including my YMCA I run at. Quick equation for you:

Me + Inclmate Weather = No Driving

So that 3.5 miles I was really looking forward to hitting didn’t happen due to the 6 inches of snow we accumulated by Saturday. It sure was pretty though! More on my snow weekend tomorrow.

So, this week I have to hit it hard. I am going to have to tweak my training schedule a little bit in order to get back on track. I am suppose to hit the 4 mile mark on Saturday but I don’t think that’s going to happen. I may have to aim for my 3.5 instead. We will see how the week goes. I’m looking forward to “hitting the ground running” litterally this week. I feel…squishy. That’s my term for it anyway. You know when you get in a routine of working out and your muscles just feel a lot firmer. Then you stop for some reason for a few days. Your muslces get kind of relaxed and squishy. I’m ready to get going!

I did pick up these babies the other day:

Due to my youth sized feet, a sale price, and a COUPON, I got these Asics for $31! I’m really excited about using them today and breaking them in for The Cooper! I’ll let you know how I like them next week!

Happy Running!

