Yesterday, a 7.0 earthquake devistated the small impoverished country of Haiti. Buildings collapsed and many were killed. The devistation was catastrophic to the people of Haiti. Already one of the most poor nations in the world, they are having to dig out of the rubble and rebuild what little they can.

Haiti holds a very special place in my heart. When I was in high school, I spent 3 of my spring breaks in Haiti doing mission work. My church has a partnership with a church in Haiti and we support them in many ways. I have seen first hand the nation of Haiti and how amazing the people are. They have so little yet are so thankful to just be alive each day, a lesson many of us Americans could learn from them.

(Please forgive the poor quality of the pictures below – scanned in)

Just to give you an idea of the devistation they are facing, here is a picture I took of the Presidential Palace in Port au Prince, the capital of Haiti in 2000. This is considered the most structurally sound building in the city.

And here is the Palace after the earthquake

If this building fell, can you imagine what happened to many people’s houses made of cinderblock and mortar? It breaks my heart to even think about it.

Another place my heart goes out to is to the church and school we support in City Solei. This church helps so many in the community get medical attention, provide a school for the children, and provide services each Sunday and sending out messages of the Lord’s love and hope. I’m hoping that later today, we will get word on how the church is and how our friends are, including the pastor, Pastor Leon.

I know the Lord has a plan for Haiti. He loves the people and he desires to see them come to know him. My prayer is that they get the help that they need and that they begin to rebuild.

While I was watching the news this morning, they were giving eyewitness reports of what was currently happening in Haiti. One reporter stated that they could hear the sound of people gathered together singing hymns as the sun came up. That brought a smile to my face. Despite the deaths of loved ones and the collpased buildings all around them, they hold on to the Lord. I can only hope and pray that they keep their faith and that the Lord uses this catastrophe for his glory.

My prayers go out to all the organizations and volunteers going to help the people of Haiti. Please keep them in your thoughts and prayers as they rebuild their nation.

*UPDATE: We have heard from Pastor Leon and he and his family are safe. He is going to update us more later on the state of the church and the school buildings.

