Well it’s Monday and I have finished week 1 of my “training” for the Cooper River 10K in March. My schedule is more of a Tuesday to Sunday rotation with Monday and Friday’s being my rest days. Although, I still plan on doing Zumba on most Mondays.

Here is the break down for those of you who are  even remotely interested and haven’t moved on to more exciting blogs…

  • Monday: Rest
  • Tuesday: Run 1.5 miles (about 13 min mile)
  • Wednesday: 30 minutes of Elliptical training
  • Thursday: Rest (babysat)
  • Friday: Rest
  • Saturday: Run 2 miles
  • Sunday: 45 minutes of Elliptical training

I decided to take it easy this first week. I know myself and my body and if I push too hard at the beginning, I will get burnt out fast. So I am sticking to a plan where I run 3 times a week, and cross train 2 days to mix it up. If I run every single day, I know I will begin to dred it. So, mixing it up with cross training and some rest days will hopefully give my body and mind a break from it all.

Since I’m doing this more as a personal goal than for losing weight, I’m not really focused on a low calorie/carb diet at the moment. I am a pretty healthy eater for the most part so it isn’t really a concern for me. I am hydrating a lot more and pushing myself to drink water all throughout the day to avoid cramps while I run. I can totally see a difference when I am well hydrated versus not. So, I’m drinking the H2O like it’s nobody’s business!!

So, that’s week 1! Check back next Monday for another update. Or remember to avoid Monday post from here till March if you are uninterested in all of this running stuff. 🙂

