Well, I got it all done. The Christmas Baking Extravaganza ended Saturday after 8 hours of baking. I made 5 different items some of which involved baking and some of which didn’t. I was house/dog sitting for a good friend of mine’s parents so I took full advantage of their kitchen to do all my baking.

I started off with making brownies and rice krispie treats for the party I was attending that night. You really can’t go wrong with these.

I then started with my classic cookies. The Chocolate Oatmeal Peanut Butter Drop Cookies. I am sad and a little embaressed to say they did not come out good AT ALL. They didn’t even deserve a picture.I made 4 batches. First one was too crumbly. 2nd was too runny. 3rd was too crumbly again. Finally the 4th one came out pretty good so I stopped there. I only put them in one of my goodie tins and only because they sepcifically asked for them. I know it had something to do with the timing when you boil the sugar but I SWEAR I did it exactly like I do it every year and they still didn’t work out. Oh well. Sometimes you win and sometimes you lose. Even when baking.

I did make some of these of course…

And I also tried a new spin on the traditional sugar cookie.

Here is the before…

And the after…

Were they good? I presonally have no idea. After making close to 100 of these bad boys, I was in no rush to eat one. But I did hear some praises from a friend who received some on Saturday. So I’m taking that as a good sign!

And here is Annie the adorable 14 year old Bassett I dog-sat this weekend. She spent most of the weekend standing in the door way in a state of confusion wondering why I was using the kitchen so much and what those heavenly aromas were.

Thanks for putting up with me for the weekend, Annie!

