In previous posts, I’ve mentioned the swapping I’ve done with my mid-west blog friend Tiffany. Well, since we enjoy swapping so much, we’ve decided to continue on with the tradition! We decided to do a Christmas Swap! After some emailing, we finally (well mostly Tiff really) came up with the idea of doing a homemade/handmade item and also a small stocking with a few small items. We set a budget and decided on a date to drop our packages int he mail. I’m SOOOO excited to get her box together. I wish I could post pictures of what I made her but they will have to wait till she receives it. I don’t want to give it away! I’ve been acumulating small things for her stocking too. Which, by the way Tiff, it’s more of a Santa Bag than a Stocking. I couldn’t find a cute little stocking I liked! But none the less, it’s going to be fun to send and receive a little Christmas cheer from accross the country.

In other news, there is a good chance our Thanksgiving is going to be turned upside down this year. Due to my grandmother’s health, she may be spending Thanksgiving at the nursing home and physical therapy center. She has been in and out of the hospital for about a month now due to some complications with some back surgery she had and we don’t know that she is going to make it home for Thanksgiving. So, we may be spending it at the nursing home. Some of you may know what it’s like to see a grandparent in a nursing home. It’s been really tough for me and my family. We continue to hope for the best but it is starting to take a toll on all of us. So, we will see. I’m not good at adjusting to change when it comes to the holidays. It’s tough enough to get through them with the loved ones who aren’t there. So, I’m dealing.

With all this comes the stress of being in a completely different city than everyone and removed from the situation most of the time. I try to help when I can but it’s difficult. Luckily I have one of those amazing friends. You know, the one friend who can sense that something is wrong from 200 miles away and calls you out of no where because “well, you were just on her mind”. That’s exactly what this friend said when she called me yesterday and she couldn’t have been more spot on. We talked for about an hour and half about everything from my family to hers, the holidays, and the things in life we both are going through. She truely is my sister in so many ways. She’s one of those friend’s who we can go weeks without talking but when we get together it’s like no time has passed at all. She understands me better than I get myself sometimes. She knows the right questions to ask and she can always tell when something goes a little deeper than I make it seem. She may not be my biological sister, but she is defintley a sister to me in life. And I am oh so greatful to have a friend like that.  So, here’s my shout out to her 🙂

One more random thought for the day, what is your favorite Christmas goodie?? I’m getting ready to begin the baking extravaganza and I need some ideas…

