So, my blogger friend Tiffany over at La Buena Vida asked a very intersting question yesterday on her blog.

“When did you first realize you were an adult?”

Now, Tiff is writing an essay for a contest that discusses this issue. When I read the question, it  just reminds me of my 25th birthday next week. Turning 25 has made me VERY aware that I’m an adult now. Although I have felt like an adult ever since I got my first car payment bill in the mail. Or maybe it was when I began buying Cheerios to help reduce my cholesterol. No, it was defintley when I woke up at 7 am on a Saturday morning, went to the gym, then to the gorcery store, came home cleaned got a shower and was done with my busy day by noon. Sigh. Apparently becoming a morning person is part of becoming an adult.

A couple of weeks ago, if you had asked me how I felt about my birthday this year, I would have said DEPRESSED. But now that I have had a chance to look at my life and evaluate where I’ve been and where I’m going, I’m looking forward to my 25th year. I think I have come to the realization that it doesn’t matter what expectations I had for my life to be like at 25, sometimes things change. Goals and visions adjust according to every choice we make. We all have moments where we think, “if only I had done this or that differently…” But the truth is I’m a big believer that everything happens for a reason. So, being depressed or sad about your birthday really doesn’t change anything. I am where I am because this is where I’m suppose to be. And when you look at it like that, it makes having a birthday quite exciting.

Bring on the cake and the hats. I’m doing it right this year!

P.S. Stay tuned for my birthday swap with Tiffany! It’s going to be great!

