Today, I went to the bank on my lunch break. I had to make a cash withdrawl a little larger than the ATM will allow. So, I actually went inside the bank which I do probably once every 6 months. I made my withdrawl and my teller put the money in an envelope for me. Not wanting to hold up the line behind me,  I decided to quickly get out of the way and count the envelope contents in the comfort of my car. Once I was in the car, I counted it and found that two $10 bills had stuck together, therefore giving me and extra $10 in my cash envelope.

A FREE $10.

To most people, this would have been awesome and  they would have pocketed it immediatly. My first thought was of a girl who works with my roomate at a large bank here in Charlotte. Let’s call her J. J works in a branch in a very nice part of town and is was a bank teller. On a Friday a couple months back, after working all day doing large account whithdrawls, deposits, and high dollar tasks for business and personal accounts, she was closing out her drawer and discovered she was $2,000 short. Yep, you read that right. $2,000. Short.

After being put on probation, demoted from being a teller, and basically babysat by a higher up for weeks, this poor girl is barely hanging on to her job. They brought in an audit team from corporate to their branch to review the records and hopefully find the missing money. The $2,000 was never found and nobody ever returned it.  J is now still on probation for a year and if her drawer is any higher than $5 under, she will be fired immediatly.

So, when I found that $10, I got right back out of my car, went back into the bank, and gave it back to my teller and told her that it was stuck to the other $10 bill in the envelope. Her face was priceless. She thanked me and gave me a big smile.

It’s the little things like that that remind you that we are all in this crazy world together. We need to be honest, moral, and do whats right when nobody is looking. I don’t tell this story to pat myself on the back by any means. But to remind everyone that owe each other to be decent people.

$10 or $2,000…it’s all the the same when it comes to doing the right thing.

