This coming Sunday is Mother’s Day. For some people Mother’s Day isn’t really a big deal. But for me, I think it’s important to celebrate your Mom. My Mom and I have not always had the best relationship. In high school, I was her worst nightmare. Talked back, no respect, very little communication. When there was communication, it was usually in the form of me trying to get my way and butting her on every single issue. I was your typical teenager thinking I knew everything and could learn nothing from my mother. Boy ,was I wrong.

me and mom

Looking back now that I am an adult, I am so thankful for my Mom. I’m thankful for all the times she told me “no” and all the times she sent me to my room. I’m thankful for the grounded weekends and the leasons I had to  learn the hard way.  She shaped me through all that and I could not be more thankful. I look up to my Mom more than ever now. She is a piller of strength for me and I really hope to be an amazing Mom like she is some day. I could never thank her enough for the sacrifices she has made, the encouragement she has given me, and the unconditional love she has always had for me throughout the years. So make sure this weekend that your Mom feels loved. I know I will!

And for all you Mom’s who hate upsetting your kid because you have to punish them or the one’s who don’t discipline because you want to be your kid’s friend, please remember that what you do now will shape them into the person they will be. You are there to be the rule maker. So make the rules and create the boundries. By not making rules, you are teaching your kids that everything is up for negotiaion. And that’s not how the world works. So send them to bed without dinner, it’s not going to kill them. Ground them for a weekend, they will live. Be that parent that they thank someday for shaping them into responsible adults.

Happy Mother’s Day to all the Moms and all the Mom’s-to-be out there!!

