I’m not sure if there are words. Amazing is the closest I can come. I mean, no other words really do it justice and amazing even falls a bit short. This weekend was a whirlwind. Even though it was such a crazy long drive, very little sleep, and mostly watching the clock to make sure we had time to fit everything in, I would go back in a heart beat and do it all over again. I got to tag along with my two roomies to a 90th birthday party and also a little reunion of friend’s  from Long Island.

The trip started with us driving half way on Friday night and staying in Silver Springs, Maryland. It was such a cute city! Then we drove the rest of the way to New Jersey on Saturday morning. We arrived at Katie’s grandparents’ house, met all the family, did some eating (incredible food by the way) and birthday cake and then headed into the city. We drove through the Lincoln Tunnel, paid way too many tolls (they totally rip you off these days!), then finally arrived in Manhattan. We dropped the car off in the overnight garage, and then jumped on a subway to Rockafeller Center. We walked through the building, through the glass revoloving door,  and there it was. The tree. I was totally mezmorized. And as we were standing there, huge snowflakes began to fall. It was one of the most magical experiences of my life (so far 🙂 ). I took tons of pictures, sent one on my phone to my parents and close friends, we took some group pictures and then walked around the block to see the Saks Fifth Ave. Snowflake Show. We stood there and watched it a few times along with the other 20,000 people who decided to be in Rockafeller Center as well. The snowflakes lit up to “Carol of the Bells”.  It was one of the highlights for sure!  Below is the video. I didn’t shoot this but it is too cool  not to show you!

After we ate a Coney Hot Dog, a pretzel, and some hot cashews, we headed downtown to visit some of Sally’s friends. On the way, over, we passed St. Patricks Cathedral. Beautiful! I also got to take my first cab ride! We finally got there, hung out for a while, but then made it a pretty early night by heading  to bed by 1 am (we were running on only 4 hours from the night before). We then drove the 10 hours back on Sunday. On the way out of the city, I got to see a few cool sites such as Carnegie Hall, lots of Christmas decorations, and then the Louis Vuitton store!

Over all, we had a GREAT time.  There really is no way to explain it. The closest I can come is standing in a Christmas snow globe. It was a very surreal experience to be there and to actually enjoy something that so many New Yorkers see every day. I can officially cross that one off my list now.  I loved the city, the snow, and the whole atmosphere. I highly recomend it! I know I will definitely be going back!

 

)

The Tree 🙂

The Saks Fifth Ave. Snowflakes

The Saks Fifth Ave. Snowflakes

St. Patrick's Cathedral. Love this picture!

St. Patrick's Cathedral. Love this picture!

The Chrysler Building

The Chrysler Building

LV!

LV!

Charlie the Alligator

Charlie the Alligator

Santa in the Minivan!

Santa in the Minivan!

