3 little pumpkins
3 little pumpkins

Ever since I was a little girl, my mom always got me a pumpkin mid October for Halloween. It would sit on the porch for a few weeks before my Dad would help me carve it . When my sister got old enough, she started to get her a pumpkin too. We would carve both of them for Halloween every year. Then, my brother came along. So then there were 3 little pumpkins on the porch and 3 pumpkins to carve for Halloween.

For years and years, my mom has continued to buy 3 pumpkins every October. They sat on the porch until we carved them. When I went off to school, I would take my pumpkin back with me and carve it back at school. But she always bought me one and we always carved them. As we have gotten older, the carving of the pumpkins has slowed down. We don’t get excited about carving them the day before Halloween anymore. But even though the carving hasn’t happened in a few years, my mom continues to buy 3 little pumpkins.
This year, when I come home in the fall to visit the family,  I turned the corner and saw the 3 pumpkins on the porch. All of the sudden, I got the overwhelming feeling of being home. I am so glad those 3 pumpkins mean just as much to my mom as they do to me. Pumpkins are a symbol of my childhood (which is why I am always tempted to buy about 10 of them every October). Carving pumpkins was such a great memory for me. So, as we get older and our holiday traditions are starting to change, I’m glad my mom enjoys the small things that continue keep the memories around. I love her for that.
